piano logo  catalogue  artists  current  internet sales  links  current info  sitemap
piano 501   re-released as staubgold analog 3

501 image the secret dub life of the flying lizards

The source tapes for this CD were recorded in Jamaica by Jah Lloyd (Patrick Francis) as part of a series he made for Virgin Records' Front Line label.  The original tapes were not released and were offered to me by Front Line's Jumbo Vanrennen with the suggestion that I should 'remix' the music. I accepted the project, expecting lots of time in one of Virgin's studios to play with the music and the equipment, only to be presented with a mono master tape of the music.

So I began to invent (or perhaps re-invent) techniques of editing, looping, filtering and subtraction to deal with unremixable mono material (these were the days before samplers). the subsequent work took a long time; as I thought it might be something of an indulgence I only worked on it at weekends and evenings rather than let it interfere with other projects.

The techniques used here expanded my vocabulary of musical electronic (as opposed to electronic music) treatments and appear in a very different form on records made at that time and thereafter, notably 'Fourth Wall' my collaboration with Patti Palladin and my production work on Michael Nyman's records.

The original players remain unidentified, Jah Lloyd used various combinations of musicians but did not indicate who played on which tracks.

In 1995 I added the 'preface' and 'postscript' using a similar approach as in 1978 but with the technology of 1995, partly to make the CD a decent length, partly to find out what effect a different technology would have, and additionally in recognition of the continuing influence this work has had on my approach to the recording studio (these 1995 tracks are not included on the vinyl reissue).

David Cunningham may 1995

track listing:

preface 6.48
shake 3.32
lime and salt 3.50
mute 3.44
skin and stone 4.25
crab claw 4.34
outside 4.06
inside 4.36
ash and diamond 4.22
10 flicker 6.14
11 postscript 5.50

basic tracks recorded by jah lloyd
restructured and produced by david cunningham for piano records
keyboard on 'flicker' julian marshall, other additions david cunningham
thanks to jumbo vanrennen, vivien goldman, laurie-rae chamberlain, tim young, simon baker, gera urkom and in particular jah lloyd and his musicians
all compositions jah lloyd/david cunningham
the jah lloyd tapes appear courtesy of virgin records ltd

501 CD cover imagethe original 1980 version of this album (not including Preface and Postscript) is released by Staubgold on vinyl and download    


staubgold analog 3


the flying lizards -discography
the flying lizards 'unofficial' website

return to: piano catalogue

piano 1996